A Black Day for Whitey

Posted by Brian Michael, Tue, December 06, 2005 03:11 PM | Comments: 0

For those of you that have been waiting anxiously to hear Richie Asburn’s fate in the the Ford C. Frick award, I have bad news for you.  Whitey did not garner enough votes to make the final ballot.  Three men from the fan’s ballot made it, with the lower threshold being 15,002 votes out of the total 105,000 cast.  Oh Philadelphia, we have failed our hero. 

The final 10 include:

Tom Cheek Bill King
Ken Coleman Tony Kubek
Dizzy Dean Denny Mathews
Jacques Doucet Graham McNamee
Gene Elston Dave Niehaus

Harry Kalas, as a former recipient, gets to cast a vote on who he thinks best fits the following criteria: longevity; continuity with a club; honors, including national assignments such as the World Series and All-Star Games; and popularity with fans.

If you still care, the results will be announced on February 21 with the awardee to be honored during 2006 Hall of Fame Weekend which, as always, is the last weekend in July.

Avatar of Brian Michael

About Brian Michael

Brian Michael has written 1138 articles on Phillies Nation.

Brian is the CEO of Phillies Nation which he founded in July of 2004.

Leave a Comment

>> Create a new Phillies Nation account.
>> Already registered with Phillies Nation? Log in here.
>> Comment without logging in:

Please ensure your comments comply with our Comment Policy.